Stand Out

6 Jul

Olivier Blanchard (The BrandBuilder Blog) posted something today that stuck in my mind.  I made sure to comment on it but I wanted to share some more of my thoughts through this medium.  Here is the passage that stood out for me:

Give yourself more credit. Everyone has strengths. Everyone has talents and abilities. Not using them every day even in some small way is such a shame it ought to be a crime. (And it’s bad business to boot.)

I’m an idea person.  I think that point is well illustrated by the post below this one which is basically a “wouldn’t it be cool if one of my favourite brands did this“.
New ideas are exciting; they open up a world that’s just chock full of tantalizing possibilities.

So I am going to share a new idea everyday.  That’s my niche.  It’s what makes me extraordinary, my competitive advantage.  What’s yours?

5 Responses to “Stand Out”

  1. Olivier Blanchard July 6, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    Cool idea.

    • Andrew Turnbull July 6, 2010 at 4:45 PM #

      Thanks Olivier. What’s your standout strength?

      (I have a guess, let’s see how accurate it is)

  2. Dave July 6, 2010 at 5:36 PM #

    Great idea; looking forward to seeing more of the ideas you have to share. I’ve already seen some great ones in your posts: fond of your Molson Marketing Mayhem! http://bit.ly/9KUg7j

    • Andrew Turnbull July 6, 2010 at 7:01 PM #

      Oooh I love the alliteration. Changing the title right now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Stand Out « T.H.E. Extraordinary Marketer -- Topsy.com - July 6, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mona Lisa, Andrew Turnbull. Andrew Turnbull said: What makes you Extraordinary? http://bit.ly/9m14ZV Inspired by @thebrandbuilder […]

Leave a Reply

